K-Dramas: My Sickeningly Unstoppable- but Educational- Addiction

AHHHH! I have legit lost my mind over Korean dramas. Since I got back from Japan it’s been like this crazy non-stop marathon of never-ending K-drama watching. I was convinced I could watch them guilt-free and neglect my Japanese studies since I had spent soooo much time in Japan. Thus, this is the first day in literally MONTHS that I have not had a K-Drama to watch. I start to feel so strange…I have so much free-time, what am I supposed to do with it all? I find that I actually do things such as leave my room and get off my laptop once and awhile to talk to real people. It is sick and wrong, I tell you, JUST PLAIN WRONG.

So today I had this hopeful inclination that I would FINALLY try to watch some Japanese stuff. Japanese dramas are…eh (I’ve expressed my particular loathing of them before) and it feels like a physical chore to even watch most of them. I have such a scarce, sad little list of J-dramas that I even have any mild interest in, and I have a massive-literally massive- list of K-dramas that I am actually DYING to see.

Here’s my problem: I am an avid Japanese student. I study (try to) often -though not lately- and watching Japanese dramas is like studying without trying too hard. The amount of comprehension I get out of the average episode (sometimes I don’t even need subtitles) is golden. Few people probably realize the immense educational potential of dramas.

For example, due to my sickening obsession to K-dramas, I am actually learning Korean. I don’t mean Annyeong and Saranghae, I mean, I’m beginning to pick up A LOT. I find myself sometimes saying things in Korean. I find myself all too often trying to translate words in French or Japanese and thinking Korean instead. I find myself picking up a bit of a Korean accent when I try to speak Japanese. If that’s not a dangerous sign I’ve been watching too much K-Drama, I don’t know what is.

So, I try, oh how I try, to NOT watch them. I feel like I am turning into a Korean girl for god sake. But I’m supposed to be JAPANESE! Erg. I can’t even listen to J-pop. AT ALL. Never have, never can. I find J-pop as uninteresting as J-dramas, and therefore, I exclusively listen to K-pop. ANOTHER PROBLEM.

I need my Korean drama damn it. I NEED IT.

Food, Water, Sleep, and Korean Drama. Take away one of those things and my frail human self may just disintegrate. My life feels so sad and empty without it. What do I do?

I plan to resist it- at least for a week or two- but I have a feeling that such a task may be easier said than done! >_<

Wish me luck! ~Ganbatte! ^^

 

Leave a Reply

